Emergency Tunes

Some days no music pops in my head. Specially when I am passively receiving musical sounds that I don’t appreciate, from external sources. It becomes very difficult for me to focus on anything and it seems my brain just blocks any other songs from appearing.

My downstairs neighbours listen to the sort of music that I truly dislike. Modern UK and US rappers or whatever that mix between pop and rap is called (Eminem, etc.), those horrible UK pop singers, the likes of Cheryl Cole or whatever last name she sports this week…You get the picture…

It’s difficult for me to work under those conditions (given that my work station is at home), and it forces me to try and find something to listen quickly. In those situations, I turn on my Spotify and my iTunes, and I just choose something random from whichever opens first.

Just now, iTunes opened first and what came out from my random click was Intervention by Arcade Fire (Bless you iTunes!)

I also have emergency tunes that I get on youtube when the songs are too annoying and I need something to mute them fast. Fortuna Imperatrix Mundi – from Carl Orff’s Carmina Burana is my favourite emergency tune. I usually use the following link to the entire performance of Carmina Burana by UC Davis Choir and Orchestra because I can then just continue to listen to the rest of the work. I do prefer a faster version of Fortuna Imperatrix Mundi but oh well, these guys are pretty good too!

What about you? Do you have any emergency tune(s)?

About Rita BA

I read, I write, I think, I dream, I write a bit more...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

