The hills are alive!

Who doesn’t know where that line comes from? No, really, if you don’t, drop me a line.

I know the odds are low if you grew up in Austria though. I know, I know, it’s surprising. I found it too when I lived there. If a movie portrayed a story that was supposed to take place in Portugal I am sure everyone in the country would know about it. But apparently, that is not the case in Austria.

I, and perhaps my entire generation, grew up watching this movie at least once a year. Quite possibly over Christmas or some other holiday…We have to remember that was a time Portugal only had 2 TV channels, ok? There wasn’t much to choose from…Besides, they were also trying to catch up on all the unseen 50’s, 60’s and 70’s movies and tv series that we missed due to the dictatorship (and the fact that not many people had tv until the 80’s…).

In my case, I may even have watched it a bit more frequently as my mother loved it, and we had a VHS tape with it. I used to watch it together with my sisters and my mom, and it seemed to serve several purposes: the first obvious one was to keep two under 7’s entertained for a couple of hours, but we also sang, learnt history, and learnt English because at that time I couldn’t read the subtitles yet. We learnt the lyrics, and although only later did I truly understand what they meant, I now find that it was a great boost to my English learning process. By the time I started to learn it formally at the age of 8, it all seemed like a natural process to me.

By the time I woke up this morning, I had already spent the later part of my sleep singing DO RE MI in my head. I’m am sure it popped up because I watched this video a couple of days ago. I quite like these projects people seem to be getting into now. The T-Mobile campaign was inspiring and more and more videos of similar attempts are being made around the world. I like to think our species is making an attempt to move music beyond the concert halls or the festival grounds.

Way to go humans! 🙂

About Rita BA

I read, I write, I think, I dream, I write a bit more...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The hills are alive!

  1. Marina says:

    Bem.. eu fiquei adepta de flash mobs desde que participei no do Michael Jackson em Lx =)

    É giro , porque já fazem flashmob com qq coisa , e em qualquer lugar 😛

Leave a Reply

