The chicken or the egg causality dilemma

Which came first? The chiken or the egg?

Recently all the music in my head seems to match the mood I’ve been in for the last few days. I have the feeling the mood I’m in makes this certain type of music pop-up.

But science is not made of subjective feelings, now is it? The fact that I have actively selected to listen to that certain type of music after the first pop-up points to the possibility that the Music itself may be prolonging the mood…And because I don’t live in a cognitive vacuum, it can be they’re both relentlessly rewarding and reinforcing eachother!

My human obsession with causality issues makes me believe however that one of them must have come first. Now, it could have been that some external event triggered a certain mood, and as a result a need to listen to certain songs was evoked, which then let to recalling that some albums hadn’t been visited for a while. This led to actively looking for that music and listening to it. This in its turn may have rewarded the mood (as I quite like the music) and reinforced its status.

Of course, if one is to have a Cyclical view of time in the most Buddhist kind of way, there is no first. But, just as the chicken or the egg causality dilemma may be seen from an evolutive perspective with the egg coming first, so too do I prefer to look at my very own causality dilemma from a perspective in which mood came first but was then reinforced by the music.

Anyways, all my recent pop-ups are of the indie-rock/indie-folk type with the likes of DeVotchka, Beirut, and Arcade Fire leading the way…There was the occasional pop/blues-rock with John Mayer’s Heavier Things. Alexi Murdoch and Jose Gonzalez have also been featuring has some recent posts noted.

Today I had an early start with The Last Beat of my Heart, from the EP Curse Your Little Heart (DeVotchka) taking the lead.

It was then followed by How it Ends, from the 2004 album with the same name (also by DeVotchka).

Beirut popped-up fairly soon after with Elephant Gun (2007 EP with the same name).

And after news that Arcade Fire will be in Santiago de Compostela in September for a gig, the excitement of their tour triggered an array of musical memories, and a bit of nostalgia (to go with the rest of the recent mood).

But it was David Fonseca with There’s Nothing Wrong With Us (2009 album Between Waves), that shook away some of the blues.

So which came first? Think about it…I’m going to leave you with Rob’s (High Fidelity, 2000) quote:

“What came first, the music or the misery? People worry about kids playing with guns, or watching violent videos, that some sort of culture of violence will take them over. Nobody worries about kids listening to thousands, literally thousands of songs about heartbreak, rejection, pain, misery and loss. Did I listen to pop music because I was miserable? Or was I miserable because I listened to pop music?”

About Rita BA

I read, I write, I think, I dream, I write a bit more...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

