Jogging

I honestly have tried to follow the listen-to-music-while-exercising trend but I haven’t been able to so far. Whether at the gym or going for a run outside I just haven’t found the right jogging music yet.

Listening to music while jogging really upsets my performance so I just prefer to use that time to think. I work to force my mind to distract itself from the physical effort by focusing all its attention on thoughts that interest me. These usually include developing ideas or finding solutions for empirical studies, and theory development. If I keep finding things to think about I always feel I could run for a really long time.

It is amazing how well one can think while doing such a physical effort. I first tried after I read an article about a biochemistry professor from a big US University (details I can’t recall right now) where he said that he spends most of his morning working while running in his treadmill. First I thought “how can he run and do so much thinking at the same time” but then I decided to try and understood how…You devote so much attention to your thoughts that you get distracted from the pain in your legs 🙂

As for listening to music while running, maybe I just haven’t found the right one for my “running” head. Truth be told, I haven’t systematically tried all possible genres so maybe there is still something out there for me. Or maybe my brain simply can’t handle running and listening to music at the same time (it is a quite small brain, you know? I wouldn’t be surprised if it had such limitations…).

I can only assume that listening to music while jogging has the same purpose as my “thinking” strategy. I don’t know from my own experience as it doesn’t help me in that way. But I do wonder if that’s the case with those people who do run with music.

Is it your case? How about that? Why do you use it, and what kind of music do you listen to? What is the music in you running head? I’d love to hear about it!

About Rita BA

I read, I write, I think, I dream, I write a bit more...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

