You know what I mean

And if you don’t, then I recommend reading Mihály Csíkszentmihályi’s work on Flow, or explore the work on Mindfulness.

Many other sources have influenced my current attitude towards life but it has been built more systematically over the last 10 odd years and I can’t recall all of them. Some were books I read – “The Monk who sold his Ferrari” was a turning point but so was “Veronika decides to die” – but others were people I had the chance to interact with for the most varied reasons allowing me to explore interaction strategies and get to know myself better.

It wasn’t this or that source, this or that work, and it wasn’t a passive process either where suddenly I felt my life transformed by a person I heard speak or by the ideas contained in a book. Nah…it feels more it has been and still is the result of accumulated interactions and experiences where I had a pro-active role. I didn’t wake up one day to a new view but more grew into it…

When you decide to take it upon yourself to have something to say about your own personal development, when you decide to get to know yourself better and improve the human you are, you take the first step into freedom.

Working with what you were given by biology and culture is easier said than done and a daily task. But hey, humans have the resources! Don’t we like to say we are more than other animals? Well, stop talking the talk and start walking the walk!

About Rita BA

I read, I write, I think, I dream, I write a bit more...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

