Enjoying music just for itself

I wonder if this is something that comes with age, or if my experience with music is evolving for some other reason, but today I realized that I can appreciate this beautiful song even if I don’t relate, at the moment, with the message it conveys.

It’s just so beautiful.

I still had the need to make sure there were no misunderstandings and that you know that I am simply enjoying a song, not trying to send a message or organize my emotions through it.

I guess I assume everyone thinks that the music you listen to sends a message about your inner world somehow. But surely we can all appreciate a beautiful work of art just for itself, not because we see something of ourselves in it. Can we? Perhaps, this says more about who we are as a species, than our idiosyncrasies. After all, there must be some universally beautiful sounds we will enjoy independent of whether they mirror our inner world or not.

About Rita BA

I read, I write, I think, I dream, I write a bit more...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

