Barco Negro

I’ve had this one in my head since the weekend, when my dad told me he got to see Amália Rodrigues live when she went to sing for the troops in Cabinda during the war.

He told me about this song in particular because she sang it. And that fact may seem completely insignificant if you don’t know that this song was actually censored and there were many PIDEs in the crowd. It seems that, at some point, the soldiers started to shout “Barco Negro, Barco Negro, Barco Negro”, and that was it. She sang it for them, because they asked.

I do wonder what she suffered afterwards from singing one simple song…

There is seriously noting wrong with the lyrics of the song. God knows what those frustrated jerks had in mind when they decided to censor it.

Here’s Marisa’s recent interpretation.

About Rita BA

I read, I write, I think, I dream, I write a bit more...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

