Saudades

Saudade is a very Portuguese word. The longing for a time, a place, a person, a moment…

This song talks about the place in Portugal that most embodies that feeling, the place where you truly learn to yearn – Coimbra. The longing spirit is so strong there, that even if you’re just visiting for a day you’re contaminated by it.

That sure was what happened to me! And today I woke up with this song in my head.

Perhaps Saudade is a strong feeling in the Portuguese culture because we’re a country of emigrants. The longing travels with those who leave and is felt strongly by those who stay. So everyone longs for something or someone.

Forced (e)migration in the last year or so has generalized such feelings and once again in our history saudade is part of the Portuguese daily life.

Not too sure where that will take us…

About Rita BA

I read, I write, I think, I dream, I write a bit more...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

